A Humble Heart of Reverence

This morning, I woke up with God on my mind. I got on my computer, clicked on biblegateway.com and sought to get inspiration through the Word of God. The Verse of the Day spoke to me:

“For it is by grace you have been saved through faith- and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God- by grace, so that no one can boast.”

Ephesians 2:8-9 NIV

Often times, I have a hard time being humble. It is a problem for me. I delight in the fact that I am good at certain things and sometimes that delight turns into conceit. My parents always tell me that I need to humble myself so that I can receive. But, that is hard for me.

My idea of humble means a timid, passive, and complacent person. I am not one to bend easily to others, although I can be quiet and calm. I do not like people telling me what to do and I certainly do not like to be used.

But, humility is very important for the people of God. If I plan on being a follower of Jesus Christ, there is no room for a haughty spirit. So often, I ask God to “create in me a clean heart and renew within me a right spirit” so that I may receive what he has for me. “His word I have hidden in my heart,” but for it to manifest, I must be humble to his voice.

Here in this scripture the phrase “so that no one can boast,” stood out to me. We are saved through and by grace which is a gift of God. It is not accomplished by deed or act, but by grace which means it is unmerited. Consequently, we cannot boast God’s favor on us compared to another. The grace we have been given is not because of us, but because of It (God).

Therefore, knowing that the grace of God does not apply to arrogant hearts, I must humble myself in reference to the glory, majesty, and mercy of God. I am saved from all iniquities and punishment when I submit to the divine will. In that, I receive grace which is unmerited. The only act that it takes is to have a humble heart of reference, which by grace, I receive.

Humble now your hearts, and let them not be troubled for he cares for you!

God in heaven, which I seek to know more.

Humble my heart so that I may come to know you

And know the promises that you have for me.

I am nothing without you; 

It is in you I live, I move, and have my being.

So God, help me to have a humble heart of reference

Looking to you in awe and amazement;

like a babe listening to his mother’s voice;

I want to be where you are.

Help me as I grow to know you through the people I encounter everyday

And help me to be a light of your dawn.

In the example of Jesus, I am confident it is so,

Amen.

 

Published by: Andre Gilford Jr.

I am a young man working to improve society through the cultivation of sophistication and distinction. A true man should be judged by their character as Dr. King once said, therefore, I am here to advocate for overall character-building through strong relationships. My journey to becoming a better man is open and transparent so that we may also endure a tumultuous, yet rewarding journey to ultimate class.

Categories UncategorizedLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

