They Tell Me of a Home: Reconciling my Soul in the Black Church

Just some thoughts on growing up in the black church.

BlaQueerFlow

“ Oh, they tell me of a home far beyond the skies
Oh, they tell me of a home far away
Oh, they tell me of a home where no storm clouds rise
Oh, they tell me of an unclouded day”

Willie Nelson, Uncloudy Day

As a child, church was everything I knew. As a young introverted bookworm, son of a single mother and an incarcerated father, I came to call church home. In the church, I found sanctuary, solitude and importance. I remember being in the Sunday school class and often being commended for my memorization of Scripture and my enthusiasm for singing the common hymns. Of course, this was not a far-fetched idea, since my Sunday school teacher granny made sure that I was present every Sunday for Sunday school and every Wednesday for bible study. But, it didn’t take much for her to get me to church…

View original post 874 more words

Published by: Andre Gilford Jr.

I am a young man working to improve society through the cultivation of sophistication and distinction. A true man should be judged by their character as Dr. King once said, therefore, I am here to advocate for overall character-building through strong relationships. My journey to becoming a better man is open and transparent so that we may also endure a tumultuous, yet rewarding journey to ultimate class.

Categories UncategorizedLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

